In

Things Nobody Tells You About Labour

Lets make this very clear, having a baby is nothing like you ever see in films. It's often longer and harder and involves a lot more swearing. You can't fully understand what having a baby is like till you've done it. So if you're expecting and want to know what to expect or you're just intrigued as to how it all plays out, here's a list of things you don't hear often about being in labour.

Please note, I went into labour naturally, before my due date and had an emergency C-section due to Mol being back to back so I can't give you much advice on delivering a baby naturally/being induced/overdue. If anyone experienced any of these things and has anything they'd like to add, please let me know!

  • You will convince yourself you're in labour for weeks before it happens - Oh my god my stomach hurts, this is it. I'm having my baby today. No, wait, it's just indigestion. Braxton hicks are the devil. They're painful and awful and you will think you're in labour before you actually are.
  • Your waters breaking is not the first sign of being in labour - Not many people experience the gush of their waters breaking in an embarrassing public place like in films. Some people do, some people's leak and some people's don't break till they're in established labour or have to have them broken for them at the hospital
  • Labour is long - especially if it's your first baby. Some people are only in labour for a couple of hours, some people (like me) are in labour for a couple of days.
  • The hospital don't want you in unless your baby is hanging out of you - slight exaggeration but you will more than likely get sent home unless you're 4cm dilated or more. I was very lucky to be 5cm dilated when I got to hospital, if I'd be sent home without pain relief I'd probably have chinned the midwife.
  • Gas and air is bittersweet - Amazing pain relief, it's so good, your whole body goes numb. However it makes your mouth dryer than the beaches in Dubai and makes you feel absolutely smashed off prosecco after a couple of breaths. It actually made me pass out but I became so reliant on it that the midwives basically had to fight it out of my hand. If I could get it on prescription for headaches I 100% would.
  • You will say shit that you don't mean - let's not forget that labour is tiring and painful and whilst you're off you face on diamorphine and fatigue you will spout absolute bullshit to your birthing partner. I remember shouting "why couldn't I just be a seahorse" to Matt whilst mid contraction
  • There is no pride in not having pain relief - I have so much respect for people who have no pain relief during labour but I have respect for anyone who has a baby. Please don't think having pain relief makes you any less of a person. You need to be as relaxed as possible and if getting off your face on gas and air is going to achieve that, knock yourself out (not literally like I did)
  • You might spew - I did, I'm not sure if it's the gas and air, the tiredness or the heat in the birthing rooms but I was so sick. It's not nice but it's perfectly normal
  • You will tell yourself you can't do it at least twice - I was shouting this at the midwife whilst pushing because I was in absolute agony, I'd been pushing for two hours and had achieved absolutely jack shit. The gas and air had been taken off me, I was falling asleep between contractions and basically had reached the point where I couldn't be arsed anymore and just wanted to go to sleep and try again tomorrow. This is normal, but you can do it. You're made to do it, no matter how it happens.
  • If you have a C-section you have to sign your life away - I remember that as soon as they decided I needed an emergency C-section everything moved so quickly and I don't recall much of it but I do remember being presented with a piece of paper to sign. Apparently they told me what it said but I don't have a clue, I kept falling asleep whilst they were telling me. I still have my copy of it and I don't know who's signature is on it but it sure as hell isn't mine. I was that tired and in pain I may have well have just put an X.
  • Liquid Morphine is life - If I could have that shit for breakfast, I would. You get this the day after you've had a section to help with the pain. Think little syringes filled with what tastes like calpol but 100 times stronger. I did not feel any pain the day after and it was amaaaazing.
  • Please have skin to skin contact with your baby - I ended up being knocked out by general anaesthetic so didn't get to meet Mol till she was a few hours old and I didn't get the opportunity to do skin to skin contact. Please please make sure you ask the midwives to put your baby straight on your chest when they're born if you can. It's one thing I feel like I really missed out on.
  • Contractions hurt - there's no sugar coating it, it's painful. They're like horrific period pains, paired with back ache and constantly feeling like you're about to shit yourself, lovely.

I'm hoping none of this has put you off, labour isn't fun but it is so worth it. My best advice is don't stress about it and choose your birthing partner wisely. I was very lucky to have Matt there who was amazing the whole way through; make sure you choose one or two people who are gonna keep you relaxed, make you laugh and not get grossed out. If you're about to have a baby, good luck. If you've had a baby, well done and if you're a lad and none of this applies to you then remember when you have to go through this with your partner, keep your shit together.

Read More

Share Tweet Pin It +1

0 Comments

In

Things You Should Never Say To A New Mum

I have realised over the past few months that when you become a parent it seems that everyone thinks they can pass comment on you, your ability as a mum and your child. Fun fact: they can't say what they want. So here's a list of things you should never say to a new mum, some of which I've had said to me.

  • Isn't he/she such a daddy's boy/girl
  • You're making a rod for your own back
  • Are you sure you should be doing that
  • Don't hold him/her like that
  • Can you stop him/her from crying
  • Does she/he ever do anything other than cry
  • God, you look knackered
  • Your baby sleeps right through? That won't last
  • Don't have another baby, it'll never be as easy as this one
  • Oh are you not breast feeding
  • I wouldn't breast feed if I were you it's hard work
  • You'll never have time to yourself again
  • Do you not think you need a day off
  • You can't just leave your baby and have a day off when you want
  • Make sure you make plenty of noise when he's sleeping so he gets used to noise
  • Be quiet she's sleeping
  • When my kids were babies..
  • This is why I don't want kids
  • When are you having another
  • Don't worry about your weight you've just had a baby
  • Do you not think you should start trying to lose your baby weight
  • Do not give them anything other than milk before 6 months
  • Start giving him baby rice when he's 2 weeks old, he's hungry


Please note if you've just had a baby, don't listen to anyone unless you trust their opinion. If you've not just had a baby, keep your opinions to yourself. Unless you're asked for advice, we don't want to hear it. Obviously if you've had a baby you'll have heard many more thinks that just make you want to shout "shut the fuck up", if so please let me know what they are, I'm intrigued.

Read More

Share Tweet Pin It +1

0 Comments

In

Dear 16 Year Old Mollie

I know you're only three months old; all you really understand right now is that you like milk and crying gets you cuddles and this may be extremely premature but you're growing faster than I could ever have imagined. Before I know it you're gonna be walking and talking and then I'll blink and you'll be at school. Terrifying. I don't know what you're gonna look like, sound like or be like but I can only hope that you grow up polite, patient and most importantly happy. Me and your dad will do anything we can for you but I wanted to write you this letter for you to read when you're sixteen which, you will learn, is one of the most fun times of your life. I hope it helps give you some guidance.

I know being a teenager feels like the hardest thing in the world when you are one. You've probably fallen out with your best friend at least three times in the last week, you probably can't decide what you want to do for a living and school is more than likely getting you down but you will look back on it and think of it as being the best years of your life so do your best to enjoy it.

Do not be mislead into believing that popularity is important. Being best mates with 50% of the school might seem like the most important thing in the world right now but I guarantee those people who promise you that you'll be friends forever will not still be around when you go to uni, or move out, or have children. You will find a handful of amazing friends who will be there for you for the long run, treat them well. Buy them coffee and cake when they're sad and send them flowers on their birthday (everyone likes flowers). Don't dwell on arguments with friends and apologize when you're wrong.

Please do not buy cheap makeup (foundation specifically) and always make sure you get colour matched. I can't stand looking at pictures of myself as a teenager because I was day glow orange, if you ask, I'll show you them. Cheap makeup more often than not will clog your pores, won't match your skin tone and won't last. I'm probably gonna regret promising this but ask me, I will happily invest in decent makeup for you so you don't have to endure the orange patchy mess I did. If you don't want to wear makeup, perfect, you're beautiful without it, you'll save me a fortune and you won't have to spend 15 minutes before bed trying to get waterproof mascara off (avoid that too, not worth the hassle). If I ever see you with foundation on your lips, pack your bags. I'll stand by you if you get pregnant at 15, become a drug addict or an arsonist but if you come downstairs with ivory lips, you're gone.

It's very unlikely that your first love will be your only love. I don't care if you bring home a boyfriend, girlfriend or 27 cats (please don't actually bring cats, I'm allergic). If they make you happy, I will welcome them. If I tell you that your partner is an arsehole, you should trust me because they probably are, even though you'll hate me for saying so. Anyone who makes you cry because of anything other than laughter is not worth your time. Never let a partner belittle you or beat you, you are worth more than that. Don't feel like you need someone to be happy, being with someone should bring out the best in you, they should treat you like a princess and know how to pick you up when you're down, don't settle for anything less. Please don't bring anyone home who isn't shit scared of your dad, it'll ruin his ego. Despite what your dads been telling you since you were 3 days old, you don't have to be a nun. Unless you want to be, in which case, go for it.

You do not have to decide what you want to do for the rest of your life right now. Please get a job, try a career out, see what you think and if you don't like it, get a new job. You have endless possibilities. Go to uni if you want to, have a gap year if you want to (definitely will not be able to fund this for you after years of buying you makeup, sorry), you can be anything you want, you might know what that is now; you may not decide till you're 30 but all you can do is try different things till you find it.

Do not waste your time with crash diets or starving yourself, you will not achieve anything. If you ever decide to lose weight please do it for yourself and the only way you'll succeed is by eating healthy and exercising, sorry there's no easier way. If you're not naturally slim, I'm really sorry, that is 100% mine and your dad's fault, I also apologise for you having my wide nose but at least you have your dads eyes.

Travel. See the world. You can go anywhere if you want to.  Learn to drive, it'll give you your independence. I know cars are expensive to buy and insure and fuel but they're worth it. Go on road trips with your friends, drive around by yourself and sing your heart out to whatever music you kids listen to nowadays. Always drive carefully and legally and please don't ever sit in the middle lane on the motorway.

Always believe in yourself. I hope you keep the enthusiasm you have right this second, you're currently laid on the sofa next to me trying to chew your own foot; well  at least you're determined. You can do anything you want to if you believe you can. Don't ever let anyone tell you you're not good enough and always try to prove people wrong. Ignore negative comments and thrive on positive ones. Always remain humble and remember that if you ever become a millionaire, me and your dad would like at least 25%. Each.

A few things to always remember:

  • Drink loads of water, it may not taste great but you'll notice a difference
  • There is nothing a tub of ice cream or cup of tea can't solve
  • Take photographs, loads of them, you'll never regret taking too many
  • Dance as much and as often as possible
  • Shots are not tasty and they will make you sick
  • I know you don't mean it when you tell me you hate me
  • Cheap face masks may not do anything but they will make you feel better
  • Acne won't last forever
  • Confidence is more attractive than massive boobs
  • Always buy jeans and bras that fit properly
  • No, you can't have a tattoo till you're 18.

There's obviously loads more things you're gonna need to know but you need to find some of it out for yourself. Learn from your mistakes and remember although you may not always like milk, crying will always get you cuddles. 

Love always,
Mum

Read More

Share Tweet Pin It +1

0 Comments

Powered by Blogger.

top social

Home Ads

Instagram

Advertisement

Facebook

Follow

Home Style Widget

header-menu

Pages

Recent Posts

Flickr Images

Search

Pages - Menu

Popular Posts